Protocol Amending the Agreement on the Establishment of the ASEAN Secretariat (Term-of-Duty of the Secretary General) Kuala Lumpur, 9 July 1985

The Government of Brunei Darussalam, the Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore and the Kingdom of Thailand:

**DESIRING** to amend the Agreement on the Establishment of the ASEAN Secretariat in order to extend the tenure of the office of the Secretary General;

## HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS: ARTICLE 1

Paragraph 1 of Article III of the Agreement shall be amended as follows:
"The Secretary-General shall be appointed by the ASEAN Foreign Ministers upon nomination by a Contracting Party o. a rotational basis in alphabetical order. The tenure of office shall be three years."

## **ARTICLE 2**

• This Protocol shall enter into force on 16 July 1986.

**IN WITNESS WHEREOF** the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have signed this Protocol.

**DONE** at Kuala Lumpur in six originals in the English language this Ninth day of July one thousand nine hundred and eighty five